Stevie Wonder, Annie Lennox, Fantasia Barrino, and Jon Batiste to pay tribute to music legends died last year

3 Min Read
Stevie Wonder, Annie Lennox, Fantasia Barrino, and Jon Batiste

At Sunday’s 2024 Grammy Awards, Stevie Wonder, Annie Lennox, Fantasia Barrino, and Jon Batiste will perform to pay tribute to music legends who passed away last year, including Tina Turner and Tony Bennett.

Following her triumph in “The Color Purple”, Barrino will celebrate Turner with a performance, according to a person close to the matter who spoke to The Hollywood Reporter. Color Purple producer Oprah Winfrey, who was named as a Grammy presenter earlier this week, will introduce the performance. Wonder will honor Bennett live, and Batiste will honor music entrepreneur Clarence Avant with a performance that Lenny Kravitz will introduce.

The Grammy Awards will be hosted by Trevor Noah, and to be broadcast live on CBS from the Arena in Los Angeles.

Wendy Melvoin and Lisa Coleman, Grammy and Emmy-winning musicians who were a part of Prince’s band The Revolution (Prince also penned O’Connor’s biggest song, “Nothing Compares 2 U.”) will join Lennox in honoring Sinead O’Connor.

The performances will occur during Sunday’s show’s In Memoriam segment, which will also feature unique video tributes and pictures of musicians who passed away within the past year.

Meryl Streep, Lionel Richie, Christina Aguilera, Christina Aguilera, Mark Ronson, Taylor Tomlinson, and Samara Joy will honor the awards. Other performances include SZA, Billie Eilish, Dua Lipa, Olivia Rodrigo, Joni Mitchell, U2, Billy Joel, Luke Combs, Burna Boy, and Travis Scott.

Also Read: Diane Warren nominated for the 15th Oscar in the Best Original Song 

With nine nominations, SZA leads the field; Victoria Monét and Phoebe Bridgers are next with seven each; Taylor Swift, Eilish, and Rodrigo each received six nominations. With the exception of Jon Batiste, all candidates in the top three categories are female artists this year. 

The following albums are vying for album of the year: boy-genius’s The Record, Janelle Monáe’s “The Age of Pleasure”, Miley Cyrus’ “Endless Summer Vacation”, Swift’s Midnights, Rodrigo’s Guts, Batiste’s World Music Radio, and Lana Del Rey’s “Did You Know That There’s a Tunnel Under Ocean Blvd”.

Also Read: Elton John grateful for Library of Congress Gershwin

Share This Article
Taylor Swift and the Debate on Discussing Celebrities’ Sexual Identity player rankings: Musiala 9, Kane 8, Hojlund 6, Onana 5 Champions League Roundup: Arsenal’s Resurgence Friday Night Heartbreak: Warriors Lose Thriller 20-19 in Close Battle